Reflection:

  • What did you learn about professional development by going through the design process?

About the professional development, I thinks the first thing I learn are some software that play important role in game development. For example, Unity. At the beginning of Cycle, I felt confused and strange to Unity, even there were tutorial videos for me in Cycle 1 but I still got confused and bugs in the game. Until now, I become more confident in Cycle 2 since I get already understand some basic knowledge of Unity. This time, it seems to be more efficient for me to follow those tutorial videos and making less mistakes. But the game that required for Cycle 2 is FPS game which means it have to be a 3D game and some model need to be build up by myself. The problem is I don’t have experience of how to make 3D models so I was so confused of those control in Blender and Photoshop, this situation reminds me that coding is not enough for this unit and just know how to Unity is not enough for making a good game. In the future, I should spend time on developing different kind of skill that are connected to this unit not only for assignment but also for my own professional development.

  • What did you learn about the other majors in the degree by working in mixed teams?

In the developing mini-game 2, I was working in a team that contains teammates from software technology and modelling, which mean I got some great co-workers that can code well and draw well. From this experiences, I realize that student in software technology can remember tons of codes, to me, they can come up ideas of how to code the game out and deal with those bugs in the fastest way, I remember that I was once got a bug that player is not taking damage from enemies, and my teammate help me solve that out and explain me why this problem happen. About another teammate from modelling, I have to admire that he could draw the modelling by using different applications, and the quality of those models are really good, he was a good teacher that help me with using blender to draw some models. What they can achieve are wroth me to learn, I am still lack of experience and knowledge about coding and can not use modelling application in a efficient way so I think I need to do more practice to improve my skills as much a possible.

  • What did you implement in your own individual work that you found the most satisfying?

In my own individual work, the work that I found it most satisfying is to take charge of interactivity and choice of the game design period. In this part I was asked to think about what kind of elements can this game provide, what choices can give to players to make their decision in the game. When doing team meeting, my suggestion of this part was accepted and become better by other teammates. In Cycle 1, I just need to come up some simple idea and suggestions of the game, but this time I do more brain storming and consider about possibility, and I understand that there is no limitation of my mind, I should keep thinking more in the next Cycle. I also satisfy with my drawing of those mood boards, though those drawing are not beautiful enough, but the content clear state those details about what feedback will players get when they make a decision in the game.

  • Do you think that there are any ethical issues attached to designing a First Person Experience inspired by recent events?

Due to the event (82 seconds of hell) that our team use for initial idea of this game is a little strange, those content in this events are more like story but not like actual problem that show up in the real life society, so I don’t think that this game is attached to any important ethical issues. But in First Person experiences, this game may let more people know about the fun and basic concept of FPS game.

