Although this minigame is the second first person game I have developed, I have still learnt many important skills, especially when it comes to the complexity and time that it takes to develop and refine these types of games.

The most notable lesson I learnt while creating this game was the importance of understanding what the end result of the game will be. During the early stages of development, I simply followed some of the basic ideas my studio had created, without actually thinking about how I wanted the game to finally work. This caused problems during the later stages of development, it sometimes became difficult and time consuming to alter the older assets to new goals, ideas and mechanics that I didn’t plan for was difficult. This contrasted greatly against the ease of utilising newer assets that I created while understanding what the game would be. By knowing how I was going to use certain assets, and focusing on creating assets that were more scalable, I was able to focus more on positioning and creating the game, rather than toiling over perfecting the assets. This was especially useful when creating the assets which directly altered the environment, such as the ammo boxes/switches. This was only possible once I determined what the end result of the game should be.

Originally, I was planning on delving further into the artistic side of game design, especially when it came to animations/modelling using blender (I originally was planning on creating a more complex model for the weapon, along with animating multiple moving parts. However, I didn’t have enough time to learn how to use blender to its fullest, and I didn’t want to risk trying to create complex models/animations, when I didn’t know how they would work when imported to unity. Although I wasn’t able to practice with making more detailed models/animations, I was still able to learn how to make simple animations, which are useful for prototyping, and while developing the game in its early stages (where aesthetics and designs could change).

Even though I couldn’t create and implement my own models/animations, I was happy with the aesthetic of the prototype, especially with my implementation of an open source upscaling shader. Although most of the assets in the prototype are not high quality, by running the game at a lower resolution, and upscaling, I was able to create a crisp, but gritty and low res look, reminiscent of old FPS titles. This effectively hid the lack of detail in some assets, and created a more stylish look, rather than one that was bland.

Although there were no real ethical issues with our game, since it is not really set in reality, all games, especially first person games can have a major ethical issues, and impacts. Whether this is intended or not, games are capable of stirring up the attention of mainstream media, and this has occurred many times, especially with violent, first person games. The public view of the game can majorly affect its sales, possibly preventing a good game from being successful, because it contained content that offended a large number of people. However, the opposite can also occur. Many games have focused on trying to tell an important story, such as games like Spec Ops: The Line. Appearing

